Portraits of Hope

Downtown Yangon is always noisy and polluted. But it has always been my favorite place to hangout with my camera. The overwhelming shouts of the road-side vendors, loud honks from the traffic, smelly pedestrians and platforms furnished with bloody-red beetle nut juices many sound unpleasant but it is always amusing to me to create pictures of these with my camera. But these stories I captured are not always happy stories. What captivates my attention the most is the child-workers. Seeing them is a melancholy but I always enjoy talking to these children and hear their stories. Here are some child labors whom I tried to initiate conversations. Some of them were willing to share their stories but most of them ran away from shyness. Yet, I still got to capture their interesting portraits.

 

A Restaurant Waiter

Restaurant Waiter

 

Souvenir Vendor

Souvenir Vendor

 

Bird Food Seller

Bird Food Seller

 

Pamphlet Deliverers

Pamphlet Deliverers

 

Ice Water Vendor

Ice Water Vendor

 

Grocery Seller

Grocery Seller

These children have tiring jobs for their ages. Although they work for long hours under the sun, the money they gain is still not sufficient to make their lives better. Some are working to support themselves for their education but some are working for to feed their families. Every time I took pictures of them, a dream to make their lives better grew bigger in me.

2 thoughts on “Portraits of Hope

  1. These are very good shots and your writing about their situation and how you love to go there and take pictures is really interesting and peaceful.

Leave a Reply

